The so-called Weywadt house was built in 1880-1882 by Niels Weywadt (1814-1883), director of the Ørum and Wulff enterprise at Djúpivogur. He came to Iceland around 1840 and married a Danish woman. They had 14 children. The second eldest of the couple´s children was Nicoline (1848-1921), who studied photography in Copenhagen. She managed the farm after her father´s death and built a photographic workroom where she worked for some time along with her cousin, Hansína Regína Björnsdóttir (1884-1973). Nicoline Weywadt was one of the finest photographers in Iceland and the first learned female photographer.
The Weywadt house was originally clad with tar paper, which was highly unusual at that time in Iceland. The last inhabitants moved out in 1988, and since 1992 the house has been part of the National Museum of Iceland, historic buildings collection.
Teigarhorn farm in the community of Djúpivogur is one of the most renowned zeolites’ spots in the world, as natural conditions provide exceptional opportunities to examine and study the formation, type and chemistry of the zeolites. Some interesting and unique pieces in terms of type and size, have been collected at Teigarhorn. Outside of Iceland, zeolites from the site can be seen in various museums of natural history, such as in the Natural History Museum in London and the Smithsonian Museum.
Since 1975, Teigarhorn farm has partly been protected as a natural monument by the nature conservation act, in 2013, the entire land was declared a nature reserve by the same act. The aim of the protection is to preserve and maintain the natural conditions, especially in zeolite-rich areas, as well as to allow public access to the area. Some part of the land is also a protected Eider Duck nesting ground and that part has a restricted access from mid May till the end of June. Gravel paths lead guests around the natural monument.